Cats and adorable things

I have always wanted to convert photographs of animals into paper, and a recent commission provided the perfect opportunity!

I really like how the second one turned out. Both are only 4″x4″.

Also, as promised, here are some quick baby shower cards based on designs from millybee.com. Both are for grad students in my lab–one is due this week!

It has been a terribly busy month. I know, I keep saying that, but this time I mean it! My last show, The Man Who Came to Dinner, went off wonderfully. And what a fun show it was!   Nevertheless, I was very ready for a little break from theatre so I could get caught up on the rest of life…

But then I learned that State College Community Theatre was holding auditions for David Auburn’s fabulous play, Proof.  If you’re not familiar with the play, you should really make a point to see or read it. There’s even a movie if that’s more your speed. Proof is a beautiful play about a young woman who is coming to terms with the recent death of her father, who was a brilliant, if unstable, mathematician. She questions her own mathematical abilities and her sanity while confronting her estranged sister and her feelings toward one of her father’s graduate students. It’s really quite wonderful.  I fell in love with the play a few years ago when I performed the first scene for a class. I decided that I would hate myself if I didn’t at least audition for the show. How often do opportunities likes these present themselves?

And, what do you know, I got the part! It is a very challenging show, and my character is on stage for all but three pages, so there are a LOT of lines to learn. It’s also an incredibly short rehearsal process (two and a  half weeks–eek!). But it is SO worth it. Balancing life and rehearsals has been a challenge, but I am very excited for this show!  If you find yourself in central Pennsylvania this month, you should definitely see it. Performances are Oct 11 – 21st at the State Theatre Attic (a very intimate space!). More information can be found here.

I have promised the Science Gods that once the show is over I will devote my energies toward their whims and fancies. Still, I’m sure some paper art will sneak in there somewhere…

About Gail McCormick

Science writer at Penn State University; papercrafter, ecologist, theatre-lover.
This entry was posted in Gail's paper cuts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

