Trying Something New

I have seen a lot of amazing paper art lately that utilizes only one color in the composition and/or has three-dimensional elements. I have always wanted to try something like this, and, when in Alabama with naught but index cards to work with, I decided to try something new:

I am very surprised with how well this turned out!  I did not have a plan when I started cutting this, so there are, of course, many many things I would change were I to make something like this again. In general, however, I am quite pleased.

In other news, I have successfully moved to Pennsylvania for graduate school! I am still settling in and getting used to attending classes again. This week I decided to take some time for myself, watch some movies, and make some more paper art:

This took about 11.5 hours to make–the longest I have spent on any one piece! Hand cutting all those little circles was quite a workout; I think I’ll stay away from circles for a little while :)  This piece is 8″x8″ in size, though with all those circles, it felt much smaller! I decided not to use my little circle punch, as it has a tendency to tear important things. Alas…

I am also well on my way to getting my etsy site up and running. I have many item descriptions written up, I just need to make them “live.” Once I figure out a few more logistics, it will happen!

About Gail McCormick

Science writer at Penn State University; papercrafter, ecologist, theatre-lover.
This entry was posted in Gail's paper cuts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying Something New

Leave a Reply

