Winter’s Tale Poster

I am currently the production manager for a production of The Winters Tale through Shakespeare in the Arb in Ann Arbor, Michigan. It’s a really great experience for both audience and actors. Each scene takes place in a different part of the arboretum, which makes for an incredibly unique production.  I am also acting in this year’s show. We opened tonight–if you are in the Ann Arbor area between now and the end of the month, you should se it! :) More info can be found here.

Shakespeare in the Arb is in its 11th year. Every year our wonderful graphic designer, David Zinn, works his magic for our poster. David has graciously allowed me to turn some of his posters into paper! Here are a few examples:

I decided to start with this year’s poster. I intended to keep with the original color scheme, but had to change tactics midway. That’s usually how this goes–planning ahead only goes so far when paper takes control. Well, it’s a little more wintery this way?

Although a technically simple cut, I nonetheless enjoyed making it. I used patterned cardstock, which I typically do not use. I think it works well here.  It really is another great design by David Zinn. Do you see Hermione’s face in the tree looking over the lovers? I love that the tree in which Florizel is sitting is also Hermione’s hand.

Whenever I make something new, I inevitably get questions about my process. Well, there isn’t one answer to these questions, as every cut is different. This is the most straightforward a papercut can be – a silhouette.  I do not draw on my paper, but rather paper clip an image to it. Watch me make this in 40 seconds:

About Gail McCormick

Science writer at Penn State University; papercrafter, ecologist, theatre-lover.
This entry was posted in Gail's paper cuts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter’s Tale Poster

  1. jazylh says:

    Your work is truly lovely!

Leave a Reply

