New Paper Portrait + WIP Video

I decided to make the most of a movie night and break out the paper once again! I am glad I found some time to do so; life has been rather hectic around here. But on to the good stuff:

Here is the original stock photo:

Look familiar? You’re right! The stock photos for both the linked photo-cut and the one above are of the same person.

Although I have a couple other different-looking photo-cuts ready to go, this one was the most straight forward. What makes this one easier than the others I have prepped? The lack of hair is nice. There are (only?) 9 colors, for which I have a good paper selection to represent. I also had a good sense of layering in my head; the others would have taken another hour or so to think through the layers.

Here’s a short WIP video of how I made this:

I also tested out a time lapse program while I made this piece. The angle is pretty crummy, but if you are interested:

Next time, I will try and find a more useful angle!

I also made this recently:

Apparently dinosaurs can also be adorable!

About Gail McCormick

Science writer at Penn State University; papercrafter, ecologist, theatre-lover.
This entry was posted in Gail's paper cuts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

