I like tiny things.

As many people in my life are well aware, I like tiny things. A lot.  For example, here is a tiny octopus:

What’s not to like?      (via Super Punch)

I also seem to have quite a few tiny figurines and tiny charms which have become necklaces. I really am quite taken by all things tiny!

This is evidenced in other places in my life, as well. In paper:

I have made this design on a larger scale, though tonight’s work was much more time consuming.  The version above was made for a bookmark.  The cat itself is less than  2.25 in x 2.25 in (6 cm x 6 cm).  Fun times!

Sorry for the lack of updates of late. I have been visiting/interviewing for a number of graduate programs during the last month, which has taken up a considerable amount of time.  As much as I like visiting and meeting new people, I could definitely use a break from being “engaging” and “charming!”  I hope to make the big decision sometime in March. Perhaps this will also bring more time for paper?  We shall see!

About Gail McCormick

Science writer at Penn State University; papercrafter, ecologist, theatre-lover.
This entry was posted in Gail's paper cuts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I like tiny things.

  1. Rachel says:

    I found your site a few weeks ago via All Things Paper and just wanted to stop by and say how much I love your paper-cutting technique of stacking colors (and this little cat is amazing). I’ve played around a bit with paper-cutting over the past couple of years but haven’t had time to do a whole lot yet (I have a full time job and trying to get a PhD in wildlife ecology so crafting time is quite minimal until that degree is completed…for now I have to be content with knitting here and there as time allows). Good luck on your search for a graduate school!

  2. anushka says:

    i like that to and is that a real octopus?

Leave a Reply

