Changes

Hello again!  I’m glad you have found me!

My old website wasn’t working quite the way I wanted it to, hence the switch to WordPress. This is looking a little better!  Now that I have graduated from undergrad (huzzah!), I should have time for more paper in my life which is most exciting!  And with WordPress being such a blog-friendly site, hopefully I can keep you appraised of my artiness!  More soon!

[Extracted from an entry on my old website, as it is still relevant:]

Part of me is a little guilty for making cuts of only Mandalas recently, but the glory of a cut like these is, because it is only two colors, it can be easily set aside and worked on in small periods of time.  In that extra 10 minutes before class or rehearsal, I can make a few cuts.  Of course, these things usually entice me for more than just 10 minutes; it is hard to pass by an unfinished papercut!  :)   To help subdue this guilt, I tell myself these are “exercises in dexterity” — and that they certainly are!  It’s a work out, and I have broken the tips off of many exacto-knife blades in the recent past.  But it’s still darn fun!

I really hope to make my next cut a photo-based cut, but in all honesty, they take a lot more focus and stamina!   I’m sure it will feel so easy cutting something that is not as tiny as the mandalas!  But there are other trade-offs.  The hardest part of my photo-based cuts, I believe, is planning out the layers and then keeping all the layers straight!  I have definitely cut out layers in the wrong color on multiple occasions…not a fun realization!  For this reason, I really like doing this type of cut on one sitting. The problem is, these photo-cuts take anywhere from 4 to 8 or 10 hours each!

We’ll see what happens!  And thanks for your support!

About Gail McCormick

Science writer at Penn State University; papercrafter, ecologist, theatre-lover.
This entry was posted in Gail's paper cuts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

